Privacy and Identity in the Digital Age

Screen-shot-2012-11-13-at-9_25_37-AM

This set of readings is one of the most relevent groups of readings I have done at my time here at Brock. The fact that we are all expected to blog our reactions and connections to these readings, (as well as comment on eachothers observations) ties directly into this growing connection without physically interacting.

In these networks that we are all (I’m sure) deeply rooted in, we make certain decisions about how to balance our own privacy with the identity we would like others to percieve. Each network also allows for a different type of mediation and negotiation with ones self. This relates to the “Cyberspace and Identity” reading. Personally I negotiate most of my online time between two networks – Twitter and Facebook. On each I take up a different identity, with facebook being a “more private” version of myself. I include family in my facebook network, wheres as I feel more exposed to the world on Twitter. We learn through the “Social Network Sites” reading that this is an illusion, and part of the strength of these sites. On facebook I am Adrian _____ the Brock University student, who probably includes one too many pictures of himself having drinks with friends. On Twitter I am AD_ANC the hip hop artist from Toronto who speaks his mind, in a sometimes vulgar manner. The negotiation between the two, and creation of identities in these spaces is what we may rely on too much in the future (according to the article “The Flight from Conversation”). In fact, we already often forget birthdays, or of social gatherings unless our iPhone or Blackberry reminds us from facebook.

There is no doubt that we are marching away from the satisfaction of face to face conversation, but there will always be need for these interactions, and the cell phone, or facebook will not change that. People will however always be lonely at times, and they will try to curb that feeling with the small screen in their pocket that says they have 750 friends. Just be careful what you post, you never know who is watching (Online Social Networking as Participatory Surveillance). At least my grandmother doesn’t follow my twitter feed. At least she remembers my birthday without a facebook update!

3 thoughts on “Privacy and Identity in the Digital Age

  1. I love that photo! It is so accurate and very cute! I am the worst with remembering friends and family members birthdays. I too use an IPhone and it allows me to communicate at a much faster rate then other phones (in my opinion). I completely agree with you, when you stated your two main social media websites allow for different types of mediation and negotiation with one’s self. I too use two main accounts and it allows me to act in a different manner in both accounts. It’s scary to think that our eligibility for a job is based on not only our best fit with the company, with our educational and past work experience, but the way we act and who we are based on our social media accounts. However there is something to say about face to face communication. As a generation we are losing the satisfaction and the means to understand critical social cues.

  2. Your picture for this blog is by far the best part of your post becasue it is so true, most if not all our our grandparents remember our birthdays and i know for a fact that she does not have facebook. I feel like this generation has becasue dependent on social media to tell us fact about peopel becasue we have become lazy about remembering stuff. I also agree with each type of socail media having a different identity and the amount of privacy given to it. Twitter is by far the most unprivate things because anymore can follow you and many people can see it. Where as my facebook is only seen by my friends and there are even some of my friends that i have blocked from somethings.

  3. I like the example that you use to describe how people communicate less and less. We truly rely too much on social media to remind us about those important things. However, those things are supposed to be remembered by ourselves. We need to keep these things in mind by our heart instead of using those cold electronica equipment. If we increasingly depend on reminds from social network, it will make us more alienated. And we will, as you said, “try to curb that feeling with the small screen in their pocket that says they have 750 friends.”
    I also agree with your views about privacy level between Facebook and twitter. As I mention in my blog, Facebook is more private than twitter, we definitely have more space for free speech on Facebook. So we are acting as different “roles” in these two social media tools. It’s nice to read your article, your grandmother will be so happy about your thinking 🙂

Leave a Reply

